Eyes Wide Open

Finding inspiration in every day. As an aspiring writer, I am always on the lookout for things to inspire my imagination. A while ago, as I was taking some photos of little ‘honey’ plants in the garden, I was struck by their delicate, ivory petals and glorious scent. This remained with me later, as I was writing. This tiny little ‘input’ had stayed in my thoughts and presented itself at the right moment. Yesterday something similar happened. On the train, as I was on my way to University, I observed a couple. They were, like everyone else, squashed in like sardines. The small lady hung onto the tall guy’s arm and he gazed with such tenderness at her that I almost looked away – the moment was private between them. He got off at the next station and she stayed on the train. What stayed with me was how fragile and vulnerable she looked without him, like a little rabbit out in the open, expecting a hawk to scoop it up any minute in razor-sharp talons. An entire outline for a novel hit me then and consumed me the rest of the way, I didn’t even see others get off the train or get on, I was in a creative bubble. The story hardly had anything to do with them, but something about that young, shy couple had sparked my thoughts, and inspired me. I will probably not get to write this story, but I am sure I will use some of the thoughts and emotions that I ‘downloaded’ in another suitable place.

What I am trying to get at is that we should be perceptive to everything around us. Flowers nodding in colourful gardens, roses climbing over an old ruin, little sparrows looking for food, swirling eddies beneath a waterfall, children playing with their dogs, etc. Everything and anything can be an inspiration if we look hard enough. Road trips are also wonderful inspiration ‘givers’ – just the prospect of a long, winding road with the unknown just around the corner sparks all kinds of ideas.

Keep your eyes, mind and imagination wide open, you never know what amazing thoughts might grow or magical ideas waltz in.

Republished from previous post.

Image

photo copyright to Me, please do not copy

About Shemer

Author who loves reading, writing, horse riding, archery, books, dancing and many other things. Fulltime Soldier and part-time wildlife management student who loves to do adventurous things and explore the real world or books in her spare time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eyes Wide Open

  1. Bob Milton says:

    Great reminder! Something I need to do a lot more of

Leave a Reply

