A Couple of Poems

Recently I read and wrote a review of ‘A Hell for Heroes by Theo Knell’ and as I mentioned before, there were several poems included in the book. I would like to share a couple of these special works below.

Strange Beings

Who are these strange beings?

trained warrior,

my comrades,

my brothers,

whose special calling turns my world upside down?

 

For saving a life,

whether it be friend or foe, matters so much more to them

than me taking one.

 

A feeling of guilt rushes over me

as I watch them working frantically to save a life,

a life which minutes before I had tried so hard to take.

Torn, I will share in their sorrow if they should fail

but feel anger should they succeed,

robbing me of my kill

 

Whether saving my brothers in the heat of the fight,

or wandering the killing ground when the battle is done

in search of my enemy’s life to save,

their task is endless.

They spend each day covered in blood,

and every night grieving

 

for those they couldn’t save

These are our ‘Medics’, half soldier half saint

Image

What If?

What if I fail

to meet the expectations of my leaders

to cope with my fear,

crumble at the bloodshed

or succumb to the horror of what is to come?

 

I can’t fail

to complete the task I’ve been set

to take the war to the enemy

to carry out my duty

to support my brothers

or help them win the day

 

I didn’t fail

to move forward

to stand my ground

to take a life

or defend my position without faltering in any way

 

It’s only now,

now that I’ve proved myself in battle,

now that I’ve seen my friends suffer and die,

that I’ve earned the right to be called a warrior.

 

God help me

 

Poems by Theo Knell from his book ‘A Hell for Heroes’

About Shemer

Author who loves reading, writing, horse riding, archery, books, dancing and many other things. Fulltime Soldier and part-time wildlife management student who loves to do adventurous things and explore the real world or books in her spare time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

