Rewrite vs. Inspiration

I am coming to a point in my writing that it is almost time to review my work. My book has finally gone over the half-way mark and I am excitedly mapping the homestretch to final chapters. I am hoping for 100,000 words and so far at 60,000 there is still quite a way to go. I have recently needed to start a time-line for the events in my book as well as start making a diagram of all the people and creatures they come across as well as places they have travelled through.

When the muse is lazy or gone off somewhere again… yup, again… I review and start to rewrite previous chapters. But there is something about rewriting that doesn’t sit well with me. I find that most of the time the first thoughts I had and story I presented was how it was supposed to be. As if instead of ‘creating’ and inventing a world and people, it has been more like I am recording their stories. Strange I know. 🙂 So my question is, is it better to rewrite as opposed to polishing inspiration? Maybe it is the choice of different writers, but maybe it is that twilight strip between the two that should be actively sought to present a well-rounded manuscript.

Image

About Shemer

Author who loves reading, writing, horse riding, archery, books, dancing and many other things. Fulltime Soldier and part-time wildlife management student who loves to do adventurous things and explore the real world or books in her spare time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rewrite vs. Inspiration

  1. Ellen Lynn says:

    It’s definitely a personal author style thing how one approaches editing, but rewrites are usually about polishing. Major changes come from finding holes in your plot, but if you’re already making a timeline and diagraming your characters/creatures, then you may have less cause for serious revisions.

    The great thing about reviewing your work is taking the opportunity to make moments richer. How many moments do you tell and how many unfold like a flower so that the reader enjoys aha! moments. Is the setting contributing to the atmosphere or getting in the way? I find in first drafts a serious want to repeat myself in the early stages as I get the story under my feet. Frequently, there are moments of great inspiration but they still have to dug out of the muck of just getting words on paper, ala NaNoWriMo style (when word count is more important than perfection).

    If, however, you’ve been pretty conscientious of your word choice and detail consistency up to this point, then it’s possible that you’re at a more refined version than a basic first draft. Still, review, rework, and edit. It’s always best to revise until you’ve revealed the very best version.

    • Shamira says:

      What a great comment – thanks for the feedback! It is so true what you say, reviewing is the opportunity to really make your work shine. Thanks again and have a great day 🙂

Leave a Reply

