Storytime

The other day as my mother and I went out to tea at the gorgeous cafe overlooking Two Rocks marina, we began discussing the importance of books and stories when you are a child. I know that I would not be the same person I am today without those – I cannot account for how many times they have affected my thoughts, ideas, imagination and generally how I live – it is a part of me. I can still remember those nights when my mom would tuck my sister and I snugly up in out beds and settling down, read us a story before bed. I remember being totally transported by my imagination – seeing everything before my eyes as if it were happening right there. I am shocked nowadays to hear that hardly anyone reads to their children anymore – such a sad occurrence.

I don’t think I would have had the courage and ‘supplies’ of imagination in me to write my own story had it not been for those. Both Einstein and C.S. Lewis both supported and encouraged imagination and fairytales – recognising their importance and life-changing effects.

A few of the books I can remember having my mom read to me are ‘Trumpet of the Swan by E.B. White’, ‘White Fang by Jeremy London’, ‘The Magic Faraway Tree by Enid Byton’ and so many other amazing, intriguing, mind-feeding stories. This is before I started actively reading books by myself, but these stories are all still etched in my memory and so many times scenes and moments will come to me, like memories of old friends and special moments. I think that story reading has been overlooked and discarded as a waste of time in our fast-paced, technology overrun world – its life-changing importance has almost been forgotten.

I would love to hear what books you remember your mom or dad reading to you – or maybe even a book that you can remember reading as a child that really affected you in a positive way.

Image

About Shemer

Author who loves reading, writing, horse riding, archery, books, dancing and many other things. Fulltime Soldier and part-time wildlife management student who loves to do adventurous things and explore the real world or books in her spare time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Storytime

  1. eyesofrain says:

    My Father actually read all the books you mentioned out loud to us along with the entire ‘Lord Of The Rings Trilogy’ and several other of Tolkien’s works including ‘The Adventures Of Tom Bombadil’, ‘The Hobbit’, and ‘Silmarillion’. Also a great many of C.S. Lewis’ works such as ‘The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe’. He read a lot of Victorian era fairytales and Alfred Hitchcock. ‘Moby Dick’, ‘20,000 Leagues Under The Sea’, ‘The Yearling’, ‘The Count Of Monte Christo’, ‘The Three Musketeers’, ‘Oliver Twist’, ‘The Old Man and The Sea’,… I could go on and on!!!! So many great and wonderful books… I cherish those memories and appreciate the love of books my parents instilled in me.

    • Shamira says:

      Isn’t that wonderful! C.S.Lewis and Tolkien are just masters of the literary art – what treasures they left for us! 🙂 Wow, that is fabulous that he shared so many wonderful stories with you – so special. 🙂 There are so many lovely books, what would we do without them! lol

Leave a Reply

