Modified Escape Artists

I just had a thought today about one of the reasons some people love reading and writing so much. I think it is for those of us who sometimes find ‘real life’ too harsh, heavy or maybe sometimes boring. We have managed to escape reality by immersing ourselves in books. The wondrous ability to forget ones problems and fears and dive into a whole new reality where the focus is not on your issues. Writing is similar I think, in a way, we are looking at rewriting things that we wish we could change. In some way or another we are escaping the finality of the past and present and ‘creating’ something beyond time. An escape hatch for the imagination, right there whenever needed.

So, in the end, I guess we are all Escape Artists at heart. 🙂

Photo copyright to Nicua Smit. Please do not copy.

 

About Shemer

Author who loves reading, writing, horse riding, archery, books, dancing and many other things. Fulltime Soldier and part-time wildlife management student who loves to do adventurous things and explore the real world or books in her spare time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Modified Escape Artists

  1. Michael says:

    Being the former epitome of escapism itself, I can confidently say that our co-authorship of life is defined by our emotional and mental maturity in the sense of our ability to accept the way things are, perceive them in an unbiased fashion, and remark on the things we notice that should be changed.

    I’ve been completely lost in books before, only sliding on back to reality once I finish that last page. I feel the emotions and sensations set forth in the words. I relate to the characters and their experiences as if I trully knew them. I am influenced and inspired by the choices made and the descriptions of the environments. At the end of the story I know I have been changed, in my thinking and in my heart. The things the writer had in their heart have, in part, been added into me.

    I find that when I’m writing, I’m not entirely mindful of how the reader is going to feel, but I am concentrating on what is in my heart and how to articulate it effectively.

    My point is thus; I think we can’t really escape reality, but we can acknowledge our ability to create it.

Leave a Reply

