Prose Tales

When I was a child, I loved reading short stories, but I am not sure if children’s stories count as short stories… Anyway, in the last few years I have tried reading a few short stories, but most of them have been pointless, boring or that awkward, confusing genre of ‘art’ that leaves you totally clueless and a bit ruffled. I recently saw an advertisement for a competition in short-stories. I am busy with several novels, but I thought to myself, ‘Why not give it a go?’ So, I have done some research on short writing, and here are some of the facts I found.

1. Use few characters and stick to one point of view.

2. Limit the time frame.

3. Be selective – every line should either build the character or advance the action.

4. Follow conventional story structure.

5. Know when to break the rules, it is your story, but also remember that it needs to work.

6. Length of between 1,000 and 7,500 words.

7. Clearly define the setting, don’t let you reader struggle on wondering where they are for most of the story.

I’m going to get started on my first short story – wish me luck. 🙂

 

About Shemer

Author who loves reading, writing, horse riding, archery, books, dancing and many other things. Fulltime Soldier and part-time wildlife management student who loves to do adventurous things and explore the real world or books in her spare time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

