It's Just FB

My sister and I have been discussing this topic on and off for the last few days. I was wondering what others thought about it. Facebook has upsides and downsides. Who doesn’t think it is great being able to keep in touch with so many people at the same time? But that also lends to the illusion that we actually know people, when in fact, we are just able to be a part of a tiny facet of their lives, only a small part they choose to share.When I think about it, I don’t really know much about the every day lives of most of my friends, the sad thing is that as we become more integrated into Facebook world, we become less attached to real connections in friendships.

And then there are the personal profile updates that always get people into a knot. I sometimes post things that maybe I have not thought through, that I find funny, or that I just want to put on my wall. It is not the place where I record the secrets of my heart or thoughts of my soul. Maybe some people do this, and I am not saying anything about that.

So just to put it out there to people fearing for my soul and spending stressful hours trying to decipher the hidden meaning in my posts – remain calm.

We also came to the conclusion that there might be two types of FB people. Those who express and share their innermost feelings and those who see it more as a board for just having fun and connecting with friends. Facebook is an ideal place to lash out or break down on since it is so easily accessible and there is no one around to account to, but I think it would be fantastic if people thought twice and maybe three times about letting their emotions dictate their actions. No one wants to be that desperate person on FB who spends every day trying to post something deep or insightful on their posts to share what obstacle they are going through or what relationship issues they are dealing with. Such things should be kept for prayers, close friends and diaries.

 

 

 

About Shemer

Author who loves reading, writing, horse riding, archery, books, dancing and many other things. Fulltime Soldier and part-time wildlife management student who loves to do adventurous things and explore the real world or books in her spare time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It's Just FB

  1. Michael says:

    I think that although what we say and do is always going to be interpreted in many different ways according to the eyes perceiving us, it is wise to bare this in mind so that when you choose to publicise your thoughts you’re catering to a diverse audience. But there’s no mistaking this: it is an audience. The things we say on facebook are seen and ought to be treated as such.

    I suppose at the end of the day, the privacy and personality of the content really depends on how much the person wants to share. My life is an open book, but I really only post on facebook if I want feedback on a thought.

Leave a Reply

