To Do or Not To Do

I have been told so many times that I always rush headlong into things without giving them second thoughts. I know this is true,I am always scolding myself for continually biting off more than I can chew. I want to do and be so many things, I have a hundred things I want to do, thousands of places to go, and countless stuff to see. My dad always tells me to ‘slow down’ and a friend told me the other day to ‘ settle and just do one thing at a time’. I see the wisdom in their words, but at the same time I ask – ‘why?’ I don’t know how long my allotted time is here on earth, it could be many more years or it could be a few months. Why should I miss out by being ‘careful’ and ‘slowing down’? There are so many amazing experiences and adventures, I say take each opportunity that comes your way. I do have a problem with seeing things out, especially continuous, long endeavors, and I do have to  learn to stick with them and finish with the same passion I started with, but at the same time I am not going to give up on any wonder or magic, experience or excitement that comes my way. I might run myself down, make the wrong choices, end up at the wrong place or make a bit of a mess of things – but I can still know in my heart that I lived and that I did as much as I could in the time allotted me. I have wasted enough time already worrying and trying to please others, but the future, in all it’s secrecy, is still waiting for me.

About Shemer

Author who loves reading, writing, horse riding, archery, books, dancing and many other things. Fulltime Soldier and part-time wildlife management student who loves to do adventurous things and explore the real world or books in her spare time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

