Moment of Heaven

The post I wrote just before this one reminded me of one of the most magical moments in my life. It was a moment of the fading of reality’s harsh lines – I was granted a small glimpse of heaven and a memory that would stay with me forever.

A few days before leaving my beloved Swaziland to move to Australia, we were packing and boxes were piling up in ever room. It was a very sad time, my heart felt like lead – I had to leave what I held most dear behind to a future in which I could not guarantee safety and care. Such a sadness and burden weighs down heavily on a person’s soul. Here I was in my mom’s room, fetching something when I heard a small flutter and looked up. The tiniest most exquisite little honey-eater had just flown in through an open window. He was the most beautiful sparkling emerald colour with a scarlet collar and perfectly arched beak. I was worried that he would get hurt and fly into the window or get tired from trying to find his way out, so I reached up to try to shoo him out. Instead of retreating, he flew a few times around my outstretched arms and then, with no fear or worry, alighted like a whisper on my hand. Such unbelievably tiny feet, like little brown twigs and a shiny eye, so full of wisdom. He sat there for a couple of seconds regarding me with his gentle and intelligent eye and then with a small chirp, he flew straight out the window, not even thinking twice about where to go. It must have been a little promise of hope from above.

And the amazing thing is that every time I go back to Swaziland to visit – I have a little interlude with a honey-eater. In 2010 I was sitting on a veranda painting, having the day off from training horses to visit a friend. It was quiet and very peaceful, the only sound was the wind playing in the tall trees. I felt rather than heard and turning around in my seat I saw, not two feet away, another little honey-eater sitting there considering me with that familiar look. I felt honoured and so grateful to have experienced that amazing moment again. But that was not the last. Not a year later, I was walking through a paddock leading a horse after a ride when a small bird swept right in front of me to sit in a tiny tree right next to me. I stopped and looked at it – and would you believe it – it was an emerald honey-eater. He chirped a few times, listened to my attempted reply and with the usual shiny eye set on my face, we enjoyed each other’s company for a few moments. Then, just as quickly as he had come, he was gone.

Little moments of Heaven.

About Shemer

Author who loves reading, writing, horse riding, archery, books, dancing and many other things. Fulltime Soldier and part-time wildlife management student who loves to do adventurous things and explore the real world or books in her spare time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

