Almost Lost

For the last few months I have had a vexing and annoying writer’s block. I have attempted to write, trying to record ideas and thoughts I have for my story, but to no avail – the writing felt stilting and soulless, it lacked life and vigour. I tried over and over, every time becoming more and more downcast, I thought imagination and the will to write had left me all together. I felt like my time as a ‘pretend aspiring author’ had come to an end. I put away my manuscripts, and spent my time on other things, putting my stories at the back of my mind and trying to forget.

I had been so busy with settings and plot and wondering what people would like or think, that I had forgotten my character. I was attempting to mould him into something else, I was betraying who he was to make allowances to what people normally like in a hero. I had taken who he was and made him into a clone of some other character, I had taken away his identity, and so, he was no more. With that, I had taken away the heart and soul of my story – no wonder it was dying.

After an experience in which I believe my eyes were opened, I realized many things about myself and my writing – I have to be true to both of them. Why should I try to force my character to be someone else, as I do, he needs to be unique and his own man.

I am not sure if my writer’s block has left altogether, but today I am happy to say that I got inspiration, a clear idea of my character for the first time in months…. I didn’t realize how much I missed him. 🙂

About Shemer

Author who loves reading, writing, horse riding, archery, books, dancing and many other things. Fulltime Soldier and part-time wildlife management student who loves to do adventurous things and explore the real world or books in her spare time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

