Just Get to It!

I have a terrible time trying to concentrate – it is almost physically painful for me to still try to interested in something that I have lost my fancy for. It is a terrible trait that I am trying hard to get rid of, but it is just so difficult. Anyone who is a Choleric will understand – we get bored VERY easily and need constant action and things to keep our minds and bodies busy. Thanks to this, I have a struggle studying, reading, painting, and doing just about anything for longer than half an hour – even watching movies that I have already seen sends me looking for something to do after the first 20 minutes. Unfortunately this also has a bad effect on my writing… Instead of sitting down for five hours or so a day, when I have a rare opportunity, and just writing – I will panic at the looming need for concentration and do anything else I can put my mind to. I have so many wonderful random ideas for stories, ideas for magical settings, fantastic dialogue and fascinating plot, but as soon as the manuscript sits before me and promises need of a lot of concentration and care, I run as fast as I can for the door. This is something I need to face and get a hold of. I am always telling my sister to stop being so afraid of pain, (we were teaching ourselves to roller-blade 🙂 it is not so bad once you get over the thought of it.  And I must start to apply this same theory to myself – I’m in danger of being a hypocrite. Instead of fearing pain, I fear committing to something that needs to be done – in this case, getting down and writing. I must get over the fear that ‘what if it is not good?’ or ‘what if I ruin the story?’ and just get writing. A little something I have learnt in life is, ‘Nothing is as bad as it seems.’ All I need to do is start to practice what I preach – wish me luck! 🙂

 

About Shemer

Author who loves reading, writing, horse riding, archery, books, dancing and many other things. Fulltime Soldier and part-time wildlife management student who loves to do adventurous things and explore the real world or books in her spare time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

