My Perfect World

My sister and I were chatting the other day about what would be our perfect world. I must admit, I don’t remember what she said, but that conversation got me thinking and my ideas grew and grew until that little place became almost a haven for me to escape into when I am tired of all the hustle and bustle. When you have people glare at you for no reason day after day, and believe me, on public transport, especially – everyone is the enemy, you just want to get away. Leaving my body sitting squashed between a vexed businessman and the train window, my mind unfurls and flies into thought and dream, taking me far away to the place I imagine.

I imagine a small castle made of huge chunks of stone, standing with a few tall turrets with arched windows. These windows have thick curtains to block out the cold, but can give way to marvelous views of the surrounding land. Comfortable and delightful furnishings with books shelved on every wall. little lamps and flowers in the kitchen window boxes. Big dogs lie warming themselves in front of a roaring fire and a cat sits on a cushion cleaning her paws. Here and there little rabbits or hedgehogs scamper, owls roost on a cupboard door and a squirrel eats a piece of vanilla cake on the table. I sit among them at night, with a warm rug over my legs in a wonderfully comfy armchair and read aloud one of my favourite books. In the day I saddle one of my horses and go for a gallop through the golden and emerald fields dotted with wildflowers that stretch out to one side. A lake laps against the base of one of the turrets, and a large, mysterious, ethereal forest stretches as far as the eye can see. In this forest are wild creatures and wonderful, magical things that are not afraid of me or I of them. Mist covers the land most days with persistent but gentle rain, sometimes giving way to sparkling days and vivid rainbows. Jade hills lie beyond the fields, ever beckoning to adventurous souls and from which sparkling streams and rivers flow. All is wild and happy and free.

 

 

About Shemer

Author who loves reading, writing, horse riding, archery, books, dancing and many other things. Fulltime Soldier and part-time wildlife management student who loves to do adventurous things and explore the real world or books in her spare time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Perfect World

  1. Shamira says:

    Thanks so much! Great to hear that! I just try my best 🙂

Leave a Reply

