Ut Bonus ut a Amicus

Like the title suggests – a good book is like a friend. I don’t know what I would do without my little personal library, and all the other libraries hereabouts that I so often frequent. Books to me are a very important part of life, like eating or going on holiday. J

I had to have extra wall to wall shelving  put into my room to house my growing collection of books. My sister also kindly gave me a small desk/cupboard to house more of my books, and yet they are still piled on my floor – there are just too many of them!

I have found that some of the best places to get fantastic books are airports – they have such a wonderfully intriguing selection! Yesterday, while waiting for my dad to land at the airport, I spotted a very interesting book in the ‘war’ section about Area 51 – hoping to get my hands on that one sometime soon.

I must admit, I enjoy a vast selection of literature from fantasy to sci-fi, classics to historical, just about anything intrigues me, but it has to be good. After growing up reading Tolkien, Lewis, and many others, my tastes are rather hard to meet.

I don’t know about what others think, but I am so tired of vampire and fallen angel books. One was ok, two were bearable, but not I can find nothing else to sink my teeth into, pardon the pun. There are just too many fantastic books an authors to write about, but I hope to do more of these, and I would love to hear everyone’s favourites and thoughts.

My fourth favourite book is ‘Scottish Chiefs’ by Jane Porter about the life of William Wallace. I must warn you, that after reading this historical account, you will not be able to bear watching Braveheart again – there are so many faults with it, and Mel Gibson could never reach the same level, (sorry Mel). And by the way, its Marian, not Murron. 🙂

I cried more while reading this book than I have reading any other, so remember the tissues! It has a few long, tiresome battle planning parts, and Helen might faint once too many, but other than that, I adore it.  It was written in 1810, remaining popular with Scottish people and banned by Napoleon.

cover for Jane Porter's Scottish Chiefs

My favourite artpiece from the book - William and Marian

About Shemer

Author who loves reading, writing, horse riding, archery, books, dancing and many other things. Fulltime Soldier and part-time wildlife management student who loves to do adventurous things and explore the real world or books in her spare time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

